PolyFace Farming

Standard

My roommate has influenced this blog. A few weeks ago she started to read a book about Polyface farming by Joel Salatin. This of course sparked my interest because I have never heard of such thing. So I googled and read up on this “Polyface farming” as well as Joel Salatin. I must say, that I very interested to read his book, as I hope you are too. Joel is a 56 year old full-time farmer in Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley. He is a third generation sustainable farmer and he returned to the farm full-time in 1982 where he continued adding to his parents’ ideas. Joel earned a bachelor’s degree in English and he writes in magazines such as STOCKMAN GRASS FARMER, ACRES USA, and FOODSHED, making him a well known writer. Their farm services more than 5,000 families, 10 retail outlets, and 50 restaurants through on-farm sales and metropolitan buying clubs with salad bar beef, pastured poultry, eggmobile eggs, pigaerator pork, forage-based rabbits, pastured turkey and forestry products using relationship marketing. Their family has done everything they can to make their farm sustainable and eco friendly. They encourage others join them and teach others ways of farming to make it the most beneficial to the environment and for the animals. I think it’s so cool that they are able to make living and be successful doing so, but that’s not even what’s important to them. They are more concerned with producing the best products they can without being considered and industry. I think more people should be enlightened by Joel Salatin and his family. Anyone can do it, and he says you don’t have to have land; it can all start with simple things, such as a garden. I hope to have more to blog about once I have read the book and I encourage others to read it as well.

About backwoods blondie

I am currnetly a senior attending MSU, where I will graduate in May of 2014 with a business agricultural degree. Even though I am living in the city, my roots are in Nevada, Mo where I was born and rasied. Very close knit family, and I wouldn't have it any other way. I enjoying showing pigs and riding horses. My life has always been based around agricultral and farming, so I know how important it is to stay informed of whats going on in the agricultural world. I work at a vet clinic and feedstore, which is what I plan to contuine after finshing school. I love being outside and working, just always doing something...fishing, hunting, riding 4-wheelers, rodeoing, and speing time with friends and family.

Leave a Reply

